Things Are Heating Up

Okay, I finally cracked. After two day of intense heat (for the middle of May), I just, two seconds ago, switched on the Air Conditioning. I had intended to see how long I could stand it, because my new apartment will be in an attic, and unless I buy the previous tenant’s air conditioner, it’s going to be sweltering and uncomfortable. Unfortunately, I couldn’t last two days of 30 degree heat (that’s in Celsius for all you ‘murricans–think 84 Fahrenheit). God(dess?) help me.

Today, our mortgage broker was over to go over the terms of the new mortgage on Esso’s condo with me. Wow, this guy has worked miracles, because we are still going to have a good chunk of money with which to help me with school. I think I’m still going to have to seriously try to find something in order to deal with the financial situation. I have my heart set on the university library system, but if that doesn’t work, then I will try to at least do some seasonal stuff at Christmastime–preferably downtown or at the mall in the North end of the city, rather than the mall I have been working at. The last thing I need is to run into Wendie or Sarah. I could deal with running into Gina or Candice, but not them. I think it would be difficult to be polite.

I’m glad my baking kick sort of petered out before this heat wave, because it’s too hot to cook or do anything that requires the protective wearing of clothes. In heat like this, clothes should be optional. I can’t wait to be able to take a long soak in tepid water in my clawfoot tub.

Leave a comment