Grrr.

*this was written during my illness.*

It’s times like these I wish I had a cat curled up on the part of the bed where I would put my feet eventually–to warm it up for me before I go take yet another nap. I hate naps. And I’m cold. Yes, yes, I’m sick again. Grrrr.

Some freakazoid from an energy “company” (I use the term loosely; what they do is set prices, not provide any product or delivery service) banged on the front door to the downstairs unit and waited on the porch for 5 minutes.

I was surprised when I finally did drag my sniffling carcass to the window that the guy was still there. I opened my window and called down, “Can I help you?” whereupon he began trying to give me his best sales pitch. I lied. I told the guy that was up to our landlady, and we don’t pay for it separately. I’m not proud of it (lying), but the last time Esso and I went with some energy plan a guy sold door-to-door, we had to deal with negative billing* and a phone rigamarole for about two years.

*negative billing is where they continue to send you a bill for services you have already cancelled. It’s a scam designed to make you think you hadn’t paid the last bill. As soon as you pay that bill, your cancelled services start up again, under the same ironclad terms you had probably cancelled because of in the first place. In other words, you pay for something you don’t want, and then end up beholden to another agreement without knowing it explicitly.

Leave a comment