Happy Valentine’s Day

I value spontenaity. The best Valentine’s gift or experience I ever had wasn’t the time my high school boyfriend took me to a fancy restaurant and gave me flowers, candy and a silver heart pendant. No, it was when Esso ripped a poster with Calvin from Calvin and Hobbes yelling “Happy Valentine’s Day” off the wall on his way to class. He followed that up with pizza and a movie. None of it was planned, all of it was heartfelt.

Whenever Valentine’s Day comes around now, I can feel him freezing with fear as to what to do for me, or give me.

I long for those days when Esso realized it was never about the gift, but about the (spontaneous) expression of his love for me. I’m not sure when it changed, exactly, although I must have initiated it to a degree, because I’m not dumb enough to say I didn’t have expectations. I think every woman has expectations, whether or not she voices them. One of the guys in my class today told me that women expect too much on Valentine’s Day. I found it hard to argue with him.

But for me, Valentine’s Day is about LOVE: love for each other, love we share in private, love we treasure and explore. It’s not about STUFF.

This year, I have no readily available Valentine, and I feel strange…not quite alone, but not quite connected to the greater world.

I hope your V-day is better.

Leave a comment